At the recent ‘Know Your Neighbour’ event in Melbourne, Water Research Australia CEO Karen Rouse presented the prestigious Nancy Millis Memorial Award and Michael R. Moore Memorial Award to two exceptional students, highlighting their dedication and contributions to the water industry.

The Nancy Millis Memorial Award, named in honour of Emeritus Professor Nancy Millis AC ME for her significant impact on the Australian water industry, is presented annually to a WaterRA student displaying outstanding initiative, qualities, and a profound passion for research. In 2024, Ortal Raikhlin from Monash University was the recipient for her project titled Scalable and environmentally sensitive technologies for managing algal blooms in water bodies and their associated infrastructure. Ortal’s exceptional qualities, including her remarkable academic record, communication skills, and industry integration, garnered praise from the award judges. They highlighted her clear career direction and her ability to articulate the relevance of her research outcomes to various sectors within the water industry.

The Michael R. Moore Memorial Award, established in memory of Professor Michael R. Moore for his notable contributions to the Australian water industry, is presented annually to a WaterRA student demonstrating leadership and enthusiasm for the field. The 2024 recipient is Stephanie Faulks from Griffith University, recognised for her project titled The occurrence and persistence of antimicrobial resistance through an advanced water treatment process and supply network. Stephanie’s dedication to advancing knowledge on antimicrobial resistance and her exemplary leadership within the university impressed the award judges. They commended her articulate communication, self-awareness, and passion for public health.

The presentation of these awards highlights WaterRA’s commitment to nurturing talent and innovation within the water research community, through the Research Leadership Program. Both Ortal Raikhlin and Stephanie Faulks demonstrate how WaterRA’s students drive impactful research to solve pressing challenges in the water industry. Their achievements serve as inspirations for future generations of researchers striving to make meaningful contributions to water sustainability and public health. WaterRA would like to congratulate both recipients.

L-R: WaterRA CEO Karen Rouse, 2024 Nancy Millis Memorial Award recipient Ortal Raikhlin & WaterRA Research Capability Manager Carolyn Bellamy.


L-R: WaterRA CEO Karen Rouse, 2024 Michael R. Moore Memorial Award recipient Stephanie Faulks, WaterRA Board Director Assoc. Prof. Helen Stratton & WaterRA Chair Mark Gobbie.