National Measurement Institute’s 2022 Metrology Awards

June 20, 2022

The Barry Inglis Medal and NMI Prize are annual awards presented by the National Measurement Institute (NMI).

The awards recognise outstanding measurement-related achievements in Australia or by Australians.

The Barry Inglis Medal is named after Dr Barry Inglis, the NMI’s first CEO and Chief Metrologist and is intended for professionals with a sustained record of achievement.

The NMI Prize is intended for early to mid-career professionals

This is a great opportunity for any professional who has done extraordinary suitable work to receive recognition from industry, research and community. NMI will be presenting the awards in a special National Science Week event in August.

The awards are as follows:

  • Barry Inglis Medal – for professionals with a sustained record of achievement in measurement. $2000 in prize money and a trophy.
  • NMI Prize for early to mid-career professionals. $2000 in prize money and a trophy.
  • People’s Choice Award – for applicants invited to present at the National Science Week event. Chosen based on audience response and awarded $500 in prize money.

Individuals or groups who have achieved something in any scientific or technical field may apply, as long as measurement is central to the achievement. Examples include:

  • Designing a new method of measurement
  • Improving our understanding of measurement science
  • Applying measurements in a new way to address an industry challenge or societal concern


Applications close on 30 June. Visit the NMI website or see this LinkedIn post for further information on how to apply.