Welcome to new members

December 14, 2021

Water Research Australia is delighted to announce two new members have joined the BIG Team, Victoria’s North East Water and Northern Territory’s Department of Environment, Parks and Water Security (DEPWS).

North East Water provide services to an estimated population of 110,000 people in north east Victoria. The region covers 39 towns across approximately 20,000 square kilometres, with communities ranging from 16,000 connections in Wodonga to just 38 in St James.

With over 185 full time equivalent staff, North East Water services residential, large industry, commercial and rural customers. 

Through its membership with WaterRA, North East Water are looking forward to collaboration opportunities with other member organisations and identification of innovative solutions to continue delivering safe drinking water and wastewater services to customers.

Jess Littlejohn, Manager Water Systems, is the Member Representative of North East Water.

DEPWS provides advice and regulation to support the sustainable use of the Northern Territory’s natural resources, and is responsible for the management, development, protection and preservation of the NT’s wildlife, parks and reserves as well as coordinating water security outcomes.

The Water Resources Division within DEPWS provides evidence-based advice to support the sustainable use of the NT’s water resources and is actively undertaking or supporting critical scientific research into ground and surface water availability, flows and recharge to support informed decision making that balances the key objectives that support economic development and environmental protection.

Amy Dysart, Executive Director Water Resources Division, is the Member Representative of DEPWS.