WaterRA welcomes new and re-elected board members

October 28, 2020

Water Research Australia is pleased to announce the election of two new directors to its board, as well as the re-election of two sitting directors.

The WaterRA AGM on 28 October 2020 saw the election of two new non-executive directors, Anna Jackson from the Australian Water Quality Centre (Research Director) and Dr David Bergmann from South East Water (Industry Director).
Anna Jackson is the General Manager, Customers, Strategy and Innovation at SA Water where a significant part of her role is leading the AWQC. Anna also leads the teams responsible for water and wastewater quality, water security and environmental sustainability, engaging and communicating with customers and the communities, and transforming social and economic insights into business strategy to improve customer experience.
Anna has more than 25 years of experience in both Australia and internationally in corporate and government sectors, with an established background in market and business development, community engagement and journalism, with her passion for broad access to safe and reliable water and sanitation services.
David is the Research & Development Manager at Melbourne's South East Water. He has over 20 years’ research and commercial product development experience in product development in highly-commercial environments. David has led teams to deliver major business transformations, cost improvements and new product launches. David also works with the major universities engaging in activities such as co-supervision and chairing project steering committees. He shapes the R&D strategy, leads R&D governance, manages the intellectual property portfolio at South East Water and works extensively with their commercial subsidiary Iota to bring innovations to a broader market.
At South East Water, David has led the technical deliverables of Aquarevo and his interests include alternative water, resource recovery, solar energy options, and development of digital sensors and monitoring systems.
David Sheehan form Coliban Water and Amy Dysart from Power and Water were re-elected as non-executive directors.  Appointed as a non-executive director (Industry) for WaterRA in 2014, David Sheehan is the General Manager Water Quality Performance and Regulation at Coliban Water. Appointed as a non-executive director (Industry) of WaterRA in 2018, Amy is currently acting as Senior Manager Strategy and Planning at Power and Water Corporation.
Earlier this year Mark Gobbie was elected WaterRA’s new independent chair of the Board for the next three years. In May the WaterRA Human Resource Committee moved to extend the term of the current independent director, Ken Murphy, for a period of one year.
This year also saw Jamie Hollamby step down as a non-executive director to pursue a new opportunity as the Chief Financial Officer at Sydney Water, along with Dr Steve Capewell, who stood down following his departure from Water Corporation.
Pictured below: Dr David Bergmann (left) and Anna Jackson (right).