Home > About Us > WaterRA Committees > Education Committee

Education Committee

The Education Committee is an operational advisory group that provides advice and expertise on WaterRA's Education Program Initiatives. The main responsibilities of the committee are to review project and candidate submissions to all WaterRA Scholarship Initiatives, and to make recommendations to the CEO and Board where required.

This review mechanism establishes a transparent and rigorous due diligence process to ensure that WaterRA scholarships are awarded to the best candidates, and that we are achieving our aim of building capacity and capability for the water industry in research related fields.

WaterRA scholarships are funded by industry partners - both Member organisations and non-members support student projects.

The Education Committee assesses project proposals against our project prioritisation criteria and provides advice to WaterRA on proposals submitted for Program Initiatives including:

  • An assessment of projects for robustness and feasibility
  • Identify weaknesses/deficiencies in project proposals and, as appropriate, advise the Program Manager - Education of actions required to address these issues prior to recommendations to the CEO and the Board
  • Suitability for a student research project at either undergraduate or postgraduate level

The Education Committee also assesses potential student candidates and provides advice to WaterRA on the following:

  • An assessment of the candidate’s applications
  • Identify the candidate’s suitability to undertake the project, taking into account the background study, skills and experience in accordance with the project requirements
  • Identify weaknesses in candidate applications and, as appropriate, provide recommendations to the Program Manager - Education of actions that could be undertaken to address these issues for further review

Members of the Education Committee

Interim Chair - Prof Felicity Roddick (Rita Henderson (University of New South Wales) - on leave)
Dennis Mulcahy (University of South Australia)
Sally McArthur (Swinburne University) (Kathryn Linge (Curtin University) - on leave)
Asoka Jayaratne (Yarra Valley Water)
Peter McCafferty (ChemCentre)
Louise McKenzie (Hunter Water Corporation)
Paul Monis (SA Water Corporation)
Glen Rowlands (TasWater)

Left to Right: A Jayaratne, K Linge, G Rowlands,
C Bellamy,
L McKenzie, D Mulcahy and
F Roddick (past Chair).

Absent: R Henderson, P Monis, P McCafferty